FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Beyond Blue Home Improvement Thread

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni
Hi everyone. I'm Geoff and have been a dedicated Volunteer on the forums for 13 years. I am proud to have stopped some of the stigmas that are associated with mental health as well as doing my best to help others too

Before my health went south I was a builder in all aspects of home construction and renovation. If you don't have a handyman around I hope I can offer you some tips that may be of help. I have had many years of experience in home renovation and will do my best to help you out if you are stuck and need some advice

I hope my experience may be of help to the people on Beyond Blue and make their life a little bit better. Even if you need help with the most basic painting job or putting up a shelf I can help there too with some tips

I will do my best to get back to anyone that has a question when I can as this is social yet important thread

Geoff
1,301 Replies 1,301

hi Ladyhawke, you can buy a cheap cordless drill from a store, they are very easy to use, if you go to a hardware store they will show you, although the drill won't be charged up, there are drills that don't need a key to tighten up the particular size drill, so easy to use, and you won't be trying to find the key.
You can also get screws that are self-drilling by using your drill with a phillips drive bit, although once again if the timber is too hard you will still have to drill a smaller hole than the nail, but when drilling let the drill do the work DON'T FORCE it or you'll break the drill bit.
If you take this email down to your hardware store they you show you. Geoff.