FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Beyond Blue Home Improvement Thread

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni
Hi everyone. I'm Geoff and have been a dedicated Volunteer on the forums for 13 years. I am proud to have stopped some of the stigmas that are associated with mental health as well as doing my best to help others too

Before my health went south I was a builder in all aspects of home construction and renovation. If you don't have a handyman around I hope I can offer you some tips that may be of help. I have had many years of experience in home renovation and will do my best to help you out if you are stuck and need some advice

I hope my experience may be of help to the people on Beyond Blue and make their life a little bit better. Even if you need help with the most basic painting job or putting up a shelf I can help there too with some tips

I will do my best to get back to anyone that has a question when I can as this is social yet important thread

Geoff
1,301 Replies 1,301

Hi Geoff,

Thanks so much for starting this thread - terrific idea. Thanks also to Tony for offering to help. I've recently moved back into the family home (alone) after renting for the last 27 years - lots of bits and pieces to do around the house. I'm absolutely clueless - I can hammer in a nail - that's the extent of my home handywoman skills. Quite sure I'll be back for advice fairly soon.

LH

CMF
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Great thread Geoff,

i like to potter around and do things myself, so this will come in handy.

cmf

hello LH, the nails these days aren't what they used to be like, they bend easily and there are houses up where I live in an old section of the town, where the wood is so hard you have to drill a hole before you can ever think about using a hammer, a smaller hole in diameter than the nail. Geoff.