FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Massively struggling right now

Rbilsy15
Community Member

I am a teacher who is dealing with anxiety and depression from starting a new job a term ago. I came in with little handover at a busy time of the year. Each week something new is brought up which I am expected to learn. I have told my line manager that I am struggling and not sure where to prioritise my time and it has lead to little support. I feel worthless in my role and I am not having any joy for teaching anymore. I have been teaching for 10 years and this is the first time I have felt like this and it is worrying. I struggle to get up in the morning and spend most of my nights planning and trying to solve my issues with zero success. Each day is a stuggle to get through. I am seeing a councillor and have taken many mental health days where I have seen my doctor and he is at the point of prescribing anti depressants.

Today I had a meeting with my line manager and principal with the sole intention of expressing my thoughts and feelings and desire to give my two week notice. As predicted they tried to keep me by saying everything I have been doing is great and I am a valued member. Sadly I caved in my decision which has made me feel worse that I have put their needs and the school needs ahead of my own mental health. The I am the second teacher already for the class this year as the first one left on maternity and I can understand they don't want to have to go through it again but I shouldn't worry about that as much as i should. I hate confrontation and fear I will always give in to what someone else wants instead of looking out for myself.