FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Struggling with parents understanding

CHCH02
Community Member

Hi, I've recently been having some struggles with my parents, as a full time uni student I can find it difficult to get them to understand that a semester can be overwhelming and exhausting. My parents however want me to get another job but I find it difficult because the current job I have has flexible working hours and have a great relationship with my manager that allows me to make adjustment to my roster when uni is on. They just seem to think that I'm not getting enough hours but when I'm not at work I am doing uni work or trying to look after myself do things that fill my cup, it feels like my happiness or contentment is never enough but having to work full time, or in the industry I am studying will make me enough. It gives me a lot of stress and feels like anything I do is hopeless. When we get into arguments about it they don't understand the difficulty I face and how hard it is to find a job in the industry without any academic qualifications or they are casual work without any guarantee hours. Even when I say I'll try and I'll look they say that's not good enough which confuses me. This isn't the first time they do this and they go in cycles for when it seems okay to when its not, so I am constantly on edge and hoping they don't bring it up. I don't know how to make them understand why I won't get a new job, why volunteering is good option and why I need to do things that fill my cup. 

2 Replies 2

Bob_22
Community Member

Hi CHCH02,