FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Feeling down - friends and life

Lalatheloopyone
Community Member

Hi all,
This is my first time posting and I’m a bit nervous haha. Lately I’ve just been feeling down and I often find it happens when I overthink but I do have social anxiety so overthinking isn’t new to me.

I’m not a very social person but I have 3 close friends although we have all moved away from each other due to uni. We still talk regularly but it feels like they are so focused on their own lives. Although that isn’t a bad thing I feel like I have no one to talk to. I have one friend who I feel really understands me and how I’m feeling but she is going through a lot of stuff right now so the last thing I would do is burden her with my problems. As for one of other friends she always talks to me about what’s happening with her life. I’ve helped her through her difficulties and it is honestly draining. I am more than happy to help her and be there for my friends but it honestly hurts when she doesn’t check in on me.

I think I have a bit of resentment towards my friends at the moment but I don’t know what to do about it. I do fear that if I mention something or express how I feel then they will check in on me due to a feeling of obligation.

Being able to be here on this forum and really express how I’m feeling does offer a bit of relief. There are a lot of other things that also cause me stress but this is probably one of the main ones.

5 Replies 5

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion
Hi, welcome

The fact that other people (some) tend to talk about themselves is annoying. I must say that this particular problem has so infuriated me that it has caused me to reduce my friendships.

Effective communication is worth exploring. E.g. she rings

"Hi, how you going"?

You respond-