FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Young, friendless, depressed

Luna_L_
Community Member
Hi! I’m new to the forums and I’m here because I don’t feel very content with my life. I feel that my life is quite hard and I’ve been through a lot issues. Apart from having a not so good family dynamic, I’m also quite lonely and I don’t know how to make friends. I’m currently a first-year university student and the holidays have been very boring and depressing because I’m lonely, and I’m addicted to my phone, and I wouldn’t go anywhere by myself. It’s like I’m trapped in my own home. I don’t know how to get help. I believe that the physical and emotional abuse in childhood has caused all these problems and I don’t know what to do. I have talked about these issues to a school counselor before, but it doesn’t get rid of my issues. I’m worried about my future, because I can’t live like this.
1 Reply 1

Nurse_Jenn
Community Member

Hi Luna L.

Welcome to the forum. It is great to see you reaching out here for support. I am sorry to hear that you are struggling and are not feeling content with your life. This is a really hard place to be if you don't have support around you. I wonder if you have any friends or family members you are able to reach out to?