FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Ugly

Mokoloko
Community Member
Hello, this is my first time sharing on this forum. I was diagnosed with severe anxiety and depression in March of this year. Prior to this diagnosis, I thought of myself as a very strong woman, both physically and mentally. Being indigenous of New Zealand, the woman carry themselves with so much strength and considered the back bone to there family and community. I worked for an organisation for 10.6 years in the community sector, working with young people in care.. I loved my job so much. In Oct of 2019, we had a new House manager that started with us. Cut a long story short, from Oct 2019 to March 2021, I was subjected to work place bullying. For the 10+ years working with young people of complex behaviour and high needs, I coped with the constant verbal abuse and the behaviours, because I loved what I did and built a great rapport with all young people I worked with. Our new house manager, I felt, broke me in every way through her work place bullying, not just me, other workers and our clients. As a Maori woman, who are bought up to be strong, I felt weak at the hands of this woman. I worked with anxiety, depression and suicidal thoughts from my clients. I had empathy for there mental state of mind. I thought I had some understanding of what they were going through, and I did,until I ended up in a similar situation to them. I have sought help through my GP, who I have a close relationship with, I was on work cover for 3 months, my organisation cancelled that and througout this, I finally resigned from my job. I started drinking alot, even went back on having a joint once and a while, so I can sleep. I have lost a lot of weight during this time. Wearing my 11 year old grandaughters clothes and finding it very difficult putting weight back on. I un