FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I need a friend

berry-waffle
Community Member

I am a 24F international uni student. I've been dealing with anxiety for a few years now and was recently diagnosed with depression. I do have some friends, but I am unable to open up to anybody about it as I don't really know what it is that would help me. I feel very lonely. I have tried to step out and talk to people but it is always at a surface level and I find myself withdrawing very quickly. I tried therapy but I don't think I found the right counsellor to help me understand what's wrong with me. I am terrified of being left behind. I am very close to my family but they are far away in a different country. I have withdrawn from my friends back home too and now I am beyond the point of reconnecting with anybody. I feel miserable. I really need a friend and a tight long hug

4 Replies 4

Sienna_12
Community Member

i dont know if i can be any help as im like  in year 7 of high school but if it can work for you im free for you to talk to 

WishyBee
Community Member

Hi berry-waffle,

It must be hard to be so far away from your family. I remember being quite overwhelmed when I started uni and I struggled socially in the beginning. There were some social clubs when I attended University (which was along time ago). Does your university have any social clubs? Maybe if you try a social activity at your uni you can slowly make some friends at a comfortable pace. 
Feel free to continue your discussion if you feel like my replies will ease your loneliness.

Take care

WishyBee