FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Helpless and hopeless.

tevont
Community Member

I am an international student currently residing alone in Hobart city. Recently graduated, I am facing a sense of helplessness and hopelessness as I embark on the job search with only four months of experience. Compounding my challenges, I recently ended a relationship with my boyfriend during my first internship at a firm, and now I find myself shouldering the burden of double rent payments after living together. Struggling with loneliness in a city where I lack close friends, I am uncertain about my prospects following the one-month internship and am unsure how to inquire about potential job retention. The prospect of living alone in Hobart has become a significant source of anxiety, as I am uncertain about my goals. I currently lack the confidence to make new friends, with my colleagues at work being my only social connection.

Adding to my distress, I am grappling with the emotional aftermath of the breakup, which occurred just five days ago. As my rent lease approaches expiration, the financial strain of high rental costs exacerbates my challenges. 

I miss him a lot.

3 Replies 3

indigo22
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi tevont,

Welcome to the forums and thank you for reaching out to us.

I'm sorry you are feeling unsettled at present and unsure of the future. Firstly, labeling yourself is not helpful to you, you are not helpless or hopeless, you are just out of your comfort zone and feeling isolated.