FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

mother with adult daughter with depression- I'm feeling helpless- HELP

tippy
Community Member

hi

I'm a mum whose daughter has recently been diagnosed with depression.

Over the last few weeks she has had amed change and I see she is starting to disconnect and just not her usual self.  I'm

worried and feeling helpless?

Anyone have any suggestions on how I can help.  I'm new to this.  Iplan to head over to her in the morning but what's the best thing I can do to help her

I'm feeling so much stress tonight I've been up and worrying all night

3 Replies 3

Snoman
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi Tippy,

Welcome to the BeyondBlue forums.

When I told my mum that I had depression and was taking medication for it, she also did not know how to handle it.  She also made all the classic mistakes of telling me how I could just think differently and "get over it".  She wondered if I should stop taking my medication.

Antidepressants can take quite a few weeks to have a noticeable effect.  Often, we may need to try a few until we find the one that works best for us.  As the meds do their thing, we can go through periods where we do seem to disconnect.  We might feel like zombies with a foggy mind or unable to feel anything.  This will pass.

Please do accept that this is an illness in the same sense as a "physical" illness.  Your daughter will need support and encouragement, and very importantly, acknowledgement that this is not her fault, not something she could have prevented, not something she can "get over", not something she can fix all by herself, and also, not something that will last forever.