FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Does my son have symptoms of anxiety?

millybay
Community Member
my son is 21 and a psychology student in second year and doing really wel plus he works part time but he has been following buddhist beliefs this past year which has worsened traits he has for constantly re-arranging how he plans things and being a control freak over himself and everyone else. Now with his buddhist reading he has done things like try to force the neighbours cows on our property to give them more feed. Refuse to let the dogs be kept in a race for 20 minutes a day while I feed the chickens. Says my cooking is too good and that food shouldn't be enjoyable. Tells his brother not to play video games, tells me I should keep away from the computer even though I have been practicing programming for 10 years. Tonight he pulled the plug on a phone call with a friend because he said her talk was negative and not good for me. He is always obsessing over what his daily routine should be.The list goes on. What can I do to help him...is this a form of anxiety? He doesn't drink or smoke but he does occasionally smoke marijuana and he's even worse then.
3 Replies 3

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni
dear Millbay, this is an interesting post, but I don't know what the buddhist beliefs are, but I would be interested to know whether your son had displayed any signs of performing any OCD traits before he joined the buddhist beliefs, as he now seems to perform signs of having OCD. Geoff.

AGrace
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi millybay,

I'm not sure if your sons thoughts are related to mental illness or whether he's found a faith that he feels he can easily subscribe to.