FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Struggling to stay afloat

30mlHandSanitiser
Community Member

Hi BB,

I've struggled with clinical depression since I was a child (I'm now 20). Recently I've fallen into one of the worst depressive episodes of my life. I feel physically nauseated all of the time, and my brain feels completely numb. I have huge problems with motivation, doing small, basic things like brushing my teeth and having a shower are huge chores for me. I'm currently a student, but I'm incredibly behind on all of my work, because I cannot bring myself to do it.

I feel so low all of the time.  I know there are things to live for but I feel like I've been trying to climb out of this hole for years and I never get better. I'm medicated, but it's not helping. I've tried different medications and none of them helped either, some made me worse.

I know that even if I get better, I'm always going to be incredibly depressed, and everything I do is always going to be a huge undertaking.

I don't know what to do, where do I go from here?

Please help

3 Replies 3

Petal22
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi 30mlHandSanitiser,

Wellcome to our forums.

Im sorry you are feeling this way I understand it would be difficult for you.

Have you thought about going to your gp and discussing how you are currently feeling?

Are you currently seeing a psychologist?

Hold onto hope because there is always hope that you will come out of this.

Ggrand
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hello Dear 30mlHandSanitiser,

A very warm and caring welcome to our forums...

I am sorry that your struggling so much with your depression..l

Many people listening to your words will probably relate to being unmotivated while struggling depression...I am one of those..you are not alone...