FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Scared to tell parents about relationship

Pippa_thebold
Community Member

22f dating 25m 

Back story, 3 years ago dated this person my parents FORBADE me from dating them threaten (22m at the time) with violence etc. The reason they FORBADE us from dating was because he used to take drugs at festivals. Since then I have dated someone else lived with them since splitting I have moved back home with mum and dad. Context  I'm a uni student who also works full time and does pay them rent.

I ran into 25m again back in Feb and we have fallen back in love all over again. I want to be with this person for many reasons but I will run out of space.   However, I have such intense and crippling anxiety about telling my parents. I am so scared that they are gonna react violently or kick me out. I love my parents but they do not take it lightly when their kids do something they don't like. I do see my partner as much as I can but my parents are always on my grill about where I am and how long I'm there etc. I love my partner and want to be with him all the time. I just don't know how to go about telling them, I am so scared of the fall out from that but I know I need to tell them. 

I guess I'm just looking for some advice? 

3 Replies 3

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi, welcome 

When I was 27yo following a 7 year relationship split, I began dating lots of girls. One I was keen on, my mother disliked. Like you I had return home to live. One day my mother got angry and yelled "if you don't break off with that girl I'm going to go away to the country for 3 weeks". I answered- "I'll help you pack your suitcase".