FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

workplace harrassment / bullying maybe??

jacky78
Community Member

Hey legend need some trusty advise please,

I have a work colleague that continuously make comment about my career prospect saying im underpaid why I'm working so hard. This stress me out, I like my job and don't care with the pay. 

He also doubt the importance the role of my job, he's a higher up and I'm a technician. He does all the calling and I did all the background and paperwork. Does this mean my job is of lower importance than his. His communication often highlight this as the case

Do you guys consider this bullying or harrasment as its impacting my daily life as I'm stressed due to this

Any advise would be appreciated

Thanks

11 Replies 11

Nimi
Community Member

Hey Jacky, this does sound stressful to me. It does not make sense for someone to try and make you worry about the fact that you "work so hard". If you have already expressed that you enjoy your work and would like to not speak about this topic anymore then I would say in the very least that this constitutes as a disruption. It is creating more stress for you, and if it is another method of undervaluing your hard work then it is a form of harrassment, intentional or not. Is there anyone that you can speak to about this safely in your workplace? You deserve to feel safe and supported at work and this sounds like a very difficult colleague to work with to me!

Mark Z.
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi Jacky,

Thanks for sharing your story. The behavior of your colleague, particularly if it's continuous and diminishing the value of your role, can indeed be stressful and concerning.