FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

ANTI DEPRESSANTS FOR ANXIETY (Positive stories only pls)

Maisymoo
Community Member

Hi all

Newbie here. I have severe anxiety, started in December this year after being bullied at work. My doctor tried me on medication and it wasnt helping. So I've switched to a different medication (very expensive but apparently one of the best out there). Anyway, i am wanting POSITIVE success stories of being treated with anti depressants. My friends have all convinced me it's a terrible idea (I know they aren't doctors nor mentsl illness experts). I hardly am able to exist in the world with my anxiety and I personally think it's a good idea (if it works).

POSITIVE SUCCESS STORIES PLEASE.

3 Replies 3

MsPurple
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi Maisymoo and welcome to the forums

I myself have GAD. I have been on and off antidepressants since I was a teen (now 26). I was on one type and I felt like, if this is the best it can be then its not good. So at 24 they switched me. First dose didn't do much. With some time and dose adjustment i Finally found something that was working for me. I feel better than I have for a while. Yes it can take time and is frustrating, but you gotta hang in there. My suggestion is to be honest with your dr. Tell them what is working and what isn't. Don't stay quiet because you dont know what to say or how you feel. It is ok to say you don't know how you feel or if it is working.

PamelaR
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hello Maisymoo and Welcome to Beyond Blue

Good to see you've found your way to our community. You'll find there are many here who can give you positive stories about using anti depressants.