FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I'm new

CassieEmily
Community Member

I'm 18, and I was diagnosed with depression a few months ago, although I think it's been going on for much longer than that.

I finally started seeing a counsellor after I had a particularly bad few days, when all I could do was cry. I just hated myself, and I didn't know who to talk to. I've always been such a cheerful, bubbly person, and I feel like I kept up the facade even when I was feeling down, so my family and friends had no idea. I saw a psychiatrist after that, then I was diagnosed with depression.

I get really frustrated with myself, because I feel like my life is really good, so I have no right to be depressed when so many people have been through so much more than I have. My family and friends are wonderful, and I'm studying medicine like I've always wanted to. But some days I don't like anything about myself, and I just don't even want to exist.

I've told a few friends about it, and I really appreciate how they try to help, but sometimes I feel like they just don't understand. My family also know, but I feel like they don't really want to talk about it. It just feels really lonely sometimes. I'm really glad I found this website, it's nice to talk to people who know what it's like. Thanks for reading!

5 Replies 5

vip
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member