FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Medication?

missjbear
Community Member

I'm new to beyond blue but I have a question that might affect my immediate future. I have been talking with my counsellor and doctor and they have suggested that I consider medication to assist me with coping with my anxiety and depressive symptoms.

I know medication affects everybody differently does anybody have a particular perspective on medication? I have seen a naturopath and osteopath in the past should I try these pathways again or try medication. Since it was two years ago I can't really remember how effective they were but I do believe they helped at least a little.

In addition to these pathways (medication, naturopathy and osteopathy) does anybody have any suggestions?

I'm struggling at the moment it is hard for me to do things right now especially things I used to enjoy. I am currently deferring from university which would normally be unlike me as I had a passion for learning and going to uni used to be a goal of mine.

Thankyou for any help.

8 Replies 8

Hope_for_the_best
Community Member

From your post, it is clear that your anxiety and depression affect your daily life and functioning, particularly you are unable to attend uni. If you have been to counselling for a while and things do not get sorted out, then psychotherapy alone may not be sufficient for you.

In response to your questions, medication has side effects and it may take a while to work, but for your situation the benefits of going on medication seems to outweigh the downsides of it. Please discuss with your doctor for the best treatment option. I am not sure about naturopathy or osteopathy. I think they may be used in adjunct, but should not replace conventional medical and psychotherapies.