FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Bipolar husband... im torn what to do

Charlee123
Community Member
Hi, this is my first time here, i have been through so much that i need someone to talk to. My husband (been together 20 years)has (finally) officially been diagnosed as bipolar and manic depressive (more manic then bipolar) but it changes. He has type 2 diabetes, and bipolar AND does not take charge of his medication, he has a dr appointment for the 23rd Feb, and is notoriously a dr avoider. We have had troubles in the past 3 years as he has been mentally exhausting (oh and has a wonderful ice addiction which he has had for 20+ years - the dr recons its lasted due to the undiagnosed bipolar). He has seperated from me as i have changed (apparently), but he cannot see how much he doesnt do for himself, its like for the past however many years he has stopped wanting to live and gets me to do everything. (even has called me up to do stuff on excel at work for him). and im over it. But i love him, and when ever hes been manic (i guess) and things have been hard we always make it work.... but now im not so sure. we have 2 boys (7 and 5) and own our house. He always wants me to change. no back chat, do what he says when he says, be clean (he never helps) stop being negative (he can talk) any way he could go on and on with whats wrong with me. It is domestic abuse, i know and yet trapped. I ve know hes not well and the drugs are no help at all. so i just need to vent.. ive left for a month, but he was at our house and i was paying all the bills so i came home as i was struggling to live. Anyway he said i was ruining everything and we now sleep in seperate rooms. if things start to go all right the moment 1 thing doesnt go the way he expect its like the end of the world. im a useless human and he doesnt know why hes still t