FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Educating locals

Yen2
Community Member

Hello,

I’m an international student from south east Asia (Chinese) and want to open a discussion about the best way to educate Australian locals about cultural differences and why ethnicity and nationality matters in a foreign country.

I have a friend who is Australian and in every way not Asian. I realise that there are some differences in how we were raised in respect to physical intimacy, humour, temperament, etc. He’s a lovely friend don’t get me wrong. And he isn’t the only person that I wanted to educate.

I wish to find gentle ways to educate locals on the reasons behind my actions (cultural). I have seen people brush past me, my friends (all Asian) and foreigners in general on situations such as racism, stereotyping and believing we have the same rights as citizens do. (Surprise, not really.)

And our way of coping is “That’s how it is as a foreigner in Australia”.

4 Replies 4

HappyHelper88
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi Yen2 Thankyou for your post and welcome

Im so sorry you have experienced this and welcome to Australia I hope you are liking it here
I think it is very important to educate Australian locals about cultural differences however the best way to do it? I'm not sure
I think having a polite open discussion could be a good way to start
Hope this helps and I'm looking forward to seeing other suggestions

Sophia16
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi Yen,

i and truly sorry about what you are going through. I understand how hard it is. I am half Indian and half Afghan and I'm Muslim, so I get how racist people can be.

I guess the only way we can really educate others is by promoting our cultural values and what they mean. Either using social media or word-of-mouth. It is difficult, but we can only do our best.