FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I spent my whole life pretending that everything is fine when it wasn't (sexual abuse)

Ghost_76
Community Member
I'm new to this. Just needed to talk to someone... anyone... need to know I'm not crazy
187 Replies 187

Ghost_76
Community Member

Hello my dear friend, Birdy

Sorry I've been quiet for a while, but I'm riding a roller coaster at the moment. I'm still in hospital, but we'll leave it at that.

How are you doing? Is your family issue sorted? You know you can tell me. I'm a good listener. It's also fine if you don't want to. It's just that you and Criox are always there for me, so I want you both to know that I'm always here if you need to talk.

Best wishes and a hug,

Your friend, Always

Ghost

xx

Croix
Community Champion
Community Champion

Dear Ghost~

I really appreciate that offer. It takes a special sort of person to worry about others when in hospital, I'm afraid I've been too wrapped up in myself when on a ward.

I found that it was frightening and boring all at once, and those books the nurse gave me made a huge difference. Is there anything you have to let the mind escape for an hour or so?

Croix

Ghost_76
Community Member

Hi Croix,

My offer always stands. I'm a good listener... I just suck at taking advice. I'm my own worst enemy...

I try to read or watch a movie, but I find it pretty hard to concentrate. I'm struggling with the whole mindfulness thing, but I'm trying. If and when I'm allowed to go for a walk outside the hospital grounds, I like doing that. I walk as fast as I can until I feel like I'm going to collapse. Sometimes that quiets my mind for a bit. And music.... I listen to music a lot... Focussing on the lyrics, because that seems to distract my thoughts.