FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Paralysed by fear

Fred22
Community Member

Hi

I am starting a new job tomorrow and am terrified I will fail at it or just stuff things up - what can I do?

9 Replies 9

mrs_johnson
Community Member

Hi There,

When I studied counselling we learned that it can be helpful to ask people in difficult situations like yours to ask themselves if they could try to engage in mindfullness. Take a couple of deep breaths and then just breathe normally ;but with the awareness of their breath and their diaphram moving in and out. As you become aware of the breath and the diaphram moving, try to listen to what sounds are happening arround you and say to youself what they are. For example" I hear the crickets outside" or "I hear cars driving down the road" or I hear the T.V. on in the loungeroom.Staying aware of these sounds and also continuing to notice your breathe and diaphram moving; sit in a comfortable spot and notice anything you can smell and likewise say to yourself the smells you can smell. Next focus on things arround you that you can see and say to yourself what they are. Continue this activity until you bring yourself back into thepresent moment ; where you can just "Be".

Hope this helps and goodluck .

Tess2
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi Fred 22

well you got the job, congratulate yourself on that. You must have at least some of the skills and knowledge they are needing. You also don’t have to be perfect on day one. Starting a new job is frightening and anyone would be nervous. Get up in plenty of time so you don’t have to rush, have a good breakfast and be friendly to the new people you are meeting. One step at a time. Tess

demonblaster
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi Fred22 ☺ and all