FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

a decision on leaving highschool

am31ia
Community Member

I haven’t really thought too much about this but I wanted to see if anyone had any advice or opinions 🙂 It’s quite a privileged problem but I thought this might be helpful. I’m in my final year of year 12, and just a little bit under halfway through but I’m seriously considering leaving (possibly recommending travelling or starting tafe or restarting my final year next year as I skipped a grade earlier on). at the end of yr 10 I got a depression diagnosis with a fun side of panic disorder and for the remainder of that year and all throughout year eleven I began to struggle with school work for the first time. I was pretty irresponsible with my meds and other self medicating, and even though this year I should be in a much better place, having moved away from that situation, it’s sort of worse than ever. I still get good grades and my teachers are constantly begging me to try - but I do, in deadline sense periods I feel like I barely sleep let alone rest. the last few exams I did where abysmal and I keep missing assignment deadlines (the last two were almost by a week). this morning I missed another one and my motivation and focus and frankly ability is going totally down the drain. maybe the system just isn’t compatible for whatever is going on in my brain.