FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Ill-Health Retired and Feeling Pretty Alone

CoffeeSnob
Community Member

So I recently retired from VicPol due to PTSD and now trying to get used to this new life. I'm struggling. Like many before me, I was pushed out by my managers and tried too long to hang on to a job that didn't want me. I gave 25 years, working with many different people over the years, some of whom I considered to be my friends. Only one person from work has been in touch since I left, which has been really tough. Would love to hear from anyone else out there in a similar situation.    

4 Replies 4

Leisa68
Community Member

Hi CoffeeSnob,

Welcome to the forums! Thank you for sharing your story here. I worked as a nurse for 35 years and have had to retire due to BiPolar and other ailments. I was bullied at work, which is prolific in nursing, and got to the point where I could not get out of the car for work to be totally scared. I finished work in 2020 and have spent almost the past two years feeling guilty about my situation. I have really struggled also with the guilt, the anger at the bully, and the sadness that I could not continue with what I was doing. I didn't love nursing, but it gave me work and independence.

Since 2020 I have been under the care of a Psychiatrist and a Psychologist and slowly but surely am starting to see through the fog that is my head. I applied for Disability (no mean feat) from Centrelink and I am doing everything the doctors tell me.

Policework is extremely stressful I can imagine and I am sorry that no one has contacted you for support. Nobody contacted me either. All I can really say is it takes time, and make sure you reach out for any olive branch that is offered to you. Take care of yourself.

Leisa68

ecomama
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor