FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Loving someone with depression but in denial.

Jay___J
Community Member

Hi everyone.

I am Jay, I am a nursing student. This is the first time I’m talking in a forum about my gf. So i been with my gf for 7 months now. She has been very depressed for more than a month now. Last week she said she don’t want a relationship and wanted to break up and she sees me as a friend now. I really love her and i wanna support her. But at times it is just hard for me to take things personally. Btw we both are 20. She is a first year nursing student and i am a second year. She’s really struggling with her uni. I always support with her studies. I wanna support her with her mental health but she’s in denial. I have read the DSM-5 and i feel like she has like 6 symptoms of major depressive disorder. She has some trauma in her childhood. Talking about risk factors she has a lot of risk factors. Her dad have suffered from anxiety and depression and is on medications at times. Her parents are very unsupportive. We are indians and indian parents just don’t get mental illness. She never seen a professional before. Medically she’s suffering from postural hypotension and bad migraine. I have talked and pushed her to see a professional which is why she is not talking to me these days. I worry about Her a lot. I actually don’t know what to do. She’s always negative, she thinks her no one likes her. She’s not hopeful, unmotivated, stressed, panicking at times, excessive crying everyday, gets upset with simple things. And sometimes everything is upsetting for her. She’s not socially withdrawing because she don’t others to know she’s depressed. She doesn’t really have too much suicidal thoughts but have a had in the past, also she used to self-harm in the past but not now. I remember she telling me about these