FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Worn out

Tired_man
Community Member

Hi all,

I have a very intense job (80+ hours of high-stress work each week), I'm in a loveless marriage, and have my in-laws living with me - I'm financially supporting everyone and have a heavy mortgage.

I feel like I have nowhere to hide. 15 hours a day of dealing with work dramas combined with constant criticism from wife and in-laws at home. I've been operating like this for about 15 years now and I'm feeling pretty down and lost.

I've stayed in the marriage as I have a 14-year-old daughter who I love dearly. I've been trying to give her stability and loving home.

It's getting to the point where I may need a little help to keep coping. Either that or I need to make a change.

4 Replies 4

jaz28
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi there,

I am sorry you are going through this. It sounds to me that this is all getting too much and you are getting burnt out.

Is there any way you can speak to your wife and in-laws about getting some more support around the home?

My parents were in a loveless marriage because of my siblings and I too. Now that they are apart we are all happier, especially my parents. I would 100% rather see them happy than not. I also didn't realise parents normally showed affection to each other until I went to friends houses and their parents were affectionate - I was like WTF. That is something to think about. I am not saying divorce is the answer, that depends on your own situation, but this was my experience.

Also, I know you work a lot - but is getting support from a mental health professional something you would consider?

Stay strong,

Jaz.

Tired_man
Community Member

Thanks, Jaz.