FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Not sure how to be still anymore.

Duck_in_water
Community Member

Hi,

This is my first time here. Not yet sure what I am hoping to get out of this, but I feel a lighter chest is a satisfactory achievement, if nothing else. I am a 23yo female. Externally, my life is more than I could have ever envisioned. I have my dream job as a Registered Nurse. I work with an amazing team. I enjoy every moment I'm at work, even the tough moments. Out of work I have a strong friendship group. I enjoy every moment that I am with my friends no matter how basic our day is spent. However, at the end of the day when I go home and when I get time to stop - I feel myself just fall into a black pit. I'm distracted and preoccupied with my thoughts. I feel anxious and on edge, and this causes tension at home. In a word, I feel depressed. Everyday I try to fill my day so that I am busy. It's hard because no-one sees the pain I am in once everything is striped away. I don't know where these feelings are coming from and don't know who I can share them with. There is nothing in my life that I would change. I am happy, but I am also trapped by a weight that I can barely explain. Hard to justify this feeling to myself, let along others. Is it still depression if I still find pleasure in daily life? How can I be still again and be content?

2 Replies 2

Meowface
Community Member

Sorry Duck In water that your feeling this way. I’m a bit down myself so don’t have all the answers.

Im a 29 year old female to give you a bit of info about me.

Well done on having an awesome job and it’s so nice to hear you have close friends.