FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Social anxiety

Fallen_Angel
Community Member
I feel like my social anxiety is so bad I can't even attend appointments. Like I don't have the balls to ask my boss for the time off. Also my GP left which means I have to see a different GP. I've been on medication for mh for 15 years (I'm 32 started meds at 17) and feel like nothing works - I don't want the GP to think I'm being difficult.

Most of my social anxiety is about going to work. I work in an aps6 job that involves dealing with the public, and I wake up dreaming about work and having panic attacks, feel nauseas whenever I go into the office, avoid public interaction whenever possible (which effect's my work) but I can't seem to find another job that doesn't involve public interaction. - only got this one because I was a graduate and didn't have the guts to say no.

I'm at the point where I've started drinking everyday, and occasionally using illicit drugs (bought off the internet) because I feel like there's no way out. I know this is a slippery slope and really want help.

Sorry for the long post.
2 Replies 2

Community Member

Hi Fallen Angel,

Firstly please don't apologise for the long post! This is a space where you can express what you are feeling for as long as you would like!