FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Hi, I'm glad to be here.

Black_Forest
Community Member

Hello, I am Black Forest. I am new to Beyond Blue. I did join quite a few weeks ago, but I haven't had a chance to do anything yet. But I am glad to meet everyone.

I am usually the person in the group of friends that everyone talks to. They talk to me about all of their problems, then after I've done everything I can to help them, they cast me aside, only speaking to me when they feel upset and/or have another problem. I feel like I'm the 'therapist' of the group, the therapist that listens to peoples' problems, and then has a meltdown days later, because I can't help them or make them happier. I am the kind of person that will trade my own happiness, for other people to be happy. Whenever someone tells me their problems, I am happy that they feel like they can trust me enough to open up to me. But that happiness is instantly replaced with panic. 'They trust me,' I would always think, 'But, if they trust me, then what would they do if I can't fix the problem? Would they hate me? Reject me? Replace me?' These are only a fraction of what races through my mind all at once.

Though I am glad to say, that I do have this one friend. She cares for me, understands me and never overwhelms me. She is the best and only friend I've ever had. She was the one that encouraged me to get this account.

I always try to do everything for everyone else, I felt like I should do something for myself, hence why I am speaking right now.

5 Replies 5

Tay100
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi Black Forest