FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Hi there... I'm new to this

Raining_Cats_and_Dogs
Community Member

Hi everyone

I decided to join this forum because I have been struggling with mental health issues for quite some time.

I don't know why, but I find it really hard to ask for help. This is probably why I haven't sought professional help. Every time I make an appointment with my GP, I cancel it at the last minute. I think I feel like I should be able to fix my own problems or that other people's mental health issues are much worse than mine and that a doctor wouldn't believe me. I find it really hard to articulate and communicate what my issues are, so I wouldn't know what to say if I saw a doctor.

Things haven't been great lately and I have been very stressed. I'm not coping well emotionally and it is taking a toll on my personal relationships. I am worried that I might lose my job because I haven't been performing lately because I have a lot on my mind.

I'm hoping that I can use this as a first step. Maybe I can find some resources. Or maybe I can get better at opening up.

All I know is that I want to change and I want to feel better.

Thank you for listening.

4 Replies 4

Billyc
Community Member

Hi,

thanks for sharing and welcome.

Im recently new to this also Nd in the short time I have found it immensely helpful.

there are other very helpful people in this site that have been around for a while who will hopefully soon say hello and provide you with a lot of insight into how to maximise your time on here.

I can relate to your situation and think it’s terrific that you have reached out. I too have felt that I’m alienating myself from family and friends because of what I’m going through. Same in the job front,

your not alone, has something happened in your life that has brought this on?