FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

18 year old feeling like I'm in the pits of despair

Peter8901
Community Member
Hello, My name is Peter, the reason why I'm here is because I feel like im at the last thread of the rope. Most days I feel depressed, barely able to find motivation to get out of bed and I have a severe case of Misanthropy. I feel consumed by hatred for humanity. I despise most humans I see them as greedy, self serving, corrupt, unreliable lot. I think their grotesque. I rarely leave the house, most times lately I leave the house once a week since I graduated highschool. I don't know what to do anymore. I am very religious and God does give me comfort and praying is one of the only times I get a sense of peace. I also tend to overthink everything and I feel physically anxious when I do so.
2 Replies 2

Peppermintbach
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hello,

Your depression sounds very debilitating and overwhelming. Struggling to get out of bed is very rough...that daily battle must be tiring...

As for your severe misanthropic feelings, to some extent, I feel that I understand where you’re coming from. Though in my case, I usually feel more disheartened and disillusioned by humankind these days, rather than severe misanthropy. Though I’ve definitely felt those intense misanthropic feelings before in the past...

You strike me as very thoughtful. To some extent, I agree with your observations/thoughts and that it could apply to many (though not all) people. That includes me too by the way, but I’m okay admitting that about myself.

I’m not sure what would help you either. But I wonder if it would help to channel some of those intense feelings into something you feel is worthy e.g. if you feel most people are greedy, is there a way you could do something to counteract that greed?