FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

one big mental health mess

keej21
Community Member

Hi guys,

Im new to all this speaking out and talking about feelings etc, but I guess im just looking for someone who is in the same if not similar situation. I am from the UK im the only one from my family over here, so as u can imagine im all alone despite maybe having a few friends but not my go to ones.

I have always been a worrier and developed anxiety and depression in 2017 after my nan died, I was one of her main careers and she passed on my way to the airport for England. This hit me hard and this is when i started showing mental health issues. Anyway fast forward to today......my partner also has mental health issues and has been hospitalised previously, she has been diagnosed with BPD as well as depression and anxiety. Doctors now think she could be autistic. This doesn't bother me as we are both in the healthcare industry and she has a son who has ADHD and autism traits. life is very hectic and due to covid it hasn't been pleasant. I'm struggling to support my partner to meet her needs aswell as trying to keep it together myself. Her meltdowns are very extreme and can become violent to the point where I'm scared to even say anything or do anything that's going to start it off, she also becomes verbally nasty which sets my mental health off. I'm really at a lost end and feel like I cant talk to anyone.

I'm also concerned about my mental health deteriorating and I also think that there's more to my mental health as to just anxiety and depression.

Anyone else in a similar situation with a partner who has BPD with relationship struggles?

How do you do it?

2 Replies 2

Sophie_M
Hi keej21,