FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Too nurse for religion, too religious for nursing

Names_Bo
Community Member

Hi, 

I am an emergency nurse and a Christian. My religious friends don't seem to understand the struggles and experiences of being an ED nurse, yet none of my colleagues seem to be religious. Does anyone have any advice on how to connect or belong to either/both groups? I like my job, but I am struggling a lot emotionally lately with being able to connect and feel useful for either group.

3 Replies 3

Ggrand
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hello Dearl Names_Bo

A very warm and caring welcome to our forums..

Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing to become a nurse, looking after and caring for people who are in need of some love, care and help in there times of need…

I think nursing and being a Christian is one of the hardest things for anyone to do….You not only look after peoples physical health but also your religious belief, helps them by giving their soul peace in their most vulnerable state….You’ are an awesome and beautiful person and  extremely useful in both groups…

I volunteer in a charity shop, where most of my colleagues are not religious, they know I am and they respect that….yet we all get along really well…In my heart I know who I am, what I believe in and I will always be that person, regardless of my colleagues or friendships…When I’m at work we talk about anything, except religion and faith…to me that’s okay..because everyone is different and has different beliefs or non beliefs…That’s who they are, I love and care for them as the persons they are…and do enjoy there company…