FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Issues with driving

Kim1988
Community Member
Hi all. I had a situation happen to me over the weekend which I’m trying to not get me down but I just need to get off my chest. The thing is I’m 32 years old and I am a late learner driver. I only just started learning a year and a bit ago. I should have learned earlier I admit but I was really not confident with it.

I really do want to learn no matter how long it takes me. I have been for about 40 lessons with a driving teacher now and he has pretty much given up on me. I guess I’m not at the level he wants me to be after how many lessons we’ve had and he’s frustrated, which I can understand. I can’t point the finger solely at him for giving up on me. I probably do need to be more focused than I have been and need to be more confident in my ability. Like for instance I still hesitate a bit at roundabouts when I can quite clearly see that nobody is there. I pretty much now by know when it’s safe to go and should stop doubting myself.

My driving teacher pretty much said to me that I need to find another driving teacher because he’s taught me all he can and maybe a different driving teacher would be better. Maybe he’s right? Maybe I need a different approach is better for me? To be honest we didn’t have any clear goals and expectations that we wanted to work towards each lesson. We were just kind of drifting along. I need a teacher that will discuss the goals and expectations with me as we go and someone who will discuss the progress with me. I thought about giving up learning but you know I have come so far from where I started with my driving I’m determined to stick with it.
5 Replies 5

Matchy69
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member