FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

sleeplessness

kaniva
Community Member
Another sleeplessness night worrying about all the things I have done wrong and all the things I have to remember to do. I am new to BB and am not sure what to expect. I exist day to day hiding my anxiety from my family. I don’t have to hide it from my friends because I don’t have any. I volunteer at a day respite centre 2 days a week and am trying to find a job in this industry. I manage to hide by doing the absolute necessary things and that’s all. I am lost and don’t know how to get out of the labyrinth of my mind.
4 Replies 4

Vegetarian Marshmallow
Community Member

It may help to, when going to bed, write down all those things you've "done wrong" and the things you need to remember to do, so you can look at it in the morning.  That may help give you the sense of having "dealt with" those issues (after all, there's nothing you can do about them right now, so you might as well leave them till tomorrow), so that you can forget about them while you try to sleep.

In my experience, the "labyrinth of the mind" tends to go away by itself when you fill up your day with (agreeable) activities.

Is there anything that inspires you, motivates you?  I tend to want to jump up and conduct an orchestra or something when I hear Grieg.

JustMe
Community Member

Hi Kaniva,

Not sleeping is very debilitating, and it definitely effects the next day. I personally love the rainforests and the ocean, so I bought 2 CD's - Kakadu Dreams and Ocean Dreams, which I play when I turn off the light. I imagine myself walking on the beach or walking in the forest and the sounds from the CD's put me to sleep. Unfortunately not for too long, but I do get a few hours.

Hope you're going OK, stay strong.

Jude
Community Member