FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I can't keep any relationships

Maybe_Maybenot
Community Member

Hi all

I'm a first year uni student. For the past few months I've been feeling really anxious and stressed because I feel like an absolute failure and I feel so so lost. I don't even know who I am anymore or why I do things. I feel like everyone around me is fake towards me and no one actually likes me. It's always so hard to differ between people who want to be your friend and people who pretend to be your friend but would never be there for you or want to talk or meet up with you. I keep comparing myself to this girl who I used to call my best friend, but lately I realised that to her, I'm not her best friend anymore. She's changed so much and gotten so many new friends, especially these four girls. At the start I wanted to get to know them better and wanted to be a group with them but they always made false promises with me, particularly my "friend". They would always promise me to hang out but I always see them hanging out together all the time. I just want a group, I want to have a best friend or best friends or even just close friends I can confide in. I feel so alone and I feel like I have no one to talk to. I bottled everything up and eventually had a panic attack where I wouldn't stop crying and screaming and couldn't breathe. I kept doubting all my actions and myself. Why did I ask them to hang? Do I want to hang with them or is it my desperate attempt at not being alone? Why did I help that person? Do I actually care about them or did I help them so that they would be closer to me and I wouldn't be alone? Do I like being by myself? Am I an extrovert? An introvert? I used to pride myself in being an extrovert because I always smile at everyone and talk to a lot of people. I still talk to a lot of people but