FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Final year nursing student stressed & anxious about job offerings

moomool
Community Member

I am a final year nursing student unbelievably overwhelmed about not getting a graduate position next year. I recently was turned down from a position where I spend my placement working. I received excellent feedback from staff relating to my placement so not receiving the job has kicked my confidence. Now I’m anxious & having thoughts I won’t get a job at all. I’m feeling so stressed and emotional  trying to finish the rest of the degree thinking is this really worth it if I may not get a job. I’ve put a crazy amount of pressure on myself throughout this degree and I would like to finish, just hate being in limbo waiting to hear about job outcomes. Surely I’m not the only one who is feeling like this… 

4 Replies 4

ecomama
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hi moomool, a warm welcome to the forums! 

Without meaning to sound too pushy... PLEASE finish your Degree! 
A Nursing Degree is freaking priceless right now, more than ever before I reckon. 

The one thing we need to develop within ourselves when going out into the Job Market is resilience

Please bring your thoughts right back to completing your studies because this will be worth SO MUCH to you throughout your lifetime. Finishing now, well I don't want to think about it really... but you'll have a HECS debt (if it wasn't paid ahead) without those qualifications. 

Final year! The finish line is within sights now. 

You can apply for so many positions with a Nursing Degree, not only all across Australia but all across the world! 
It's such a fantastic career path. 

My school friend finished her Nursing Degree in her fifties lol, yep we're getting on!