FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Apprentiship issues and extreme anxiety about working in general

Slaugh
Community Member

Hi all,

I am currently a 4th year electrical apprenticeship desperatly trying to keep it afloat whilst suffering what I can only assume is a type of work anxiety and depression.

I am 32 married with one child. In my short life in the work force I have had 9 jobs all which I have been made redundant almost right on the 18 month mark, give or take a few months. My goal as an apprentice was to start my own business so i can avoid getting sacked from jobs every 1 and halyears.

I began this apprenticeship with 5 years experience in the telecommunications feild over 3 jobs.

Now I have 3 years experience as an electrician and very close to finishing my apprenticeship but one catch...i don't have an employer and I don't believe I can stand the thought of taking on what would be my 3rd job under this apprenticeship.

The first job I was made redundant after 2 and half years. The next my boss fired me because I enroled in school when he insisted he needed me full time. The issue here was we both agreed I would work full time for 6 months and then re enrol back at TAFE. On the 6 month mark and following on for 4 weeks after, I requested to be enrolled daily. My boss just blew me off and continued as business as usual. So I took the initiative and enrolled. Told him, which subseqyently lead to my dismissal.