FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

My Intro.....

iTHINK88
Community Member

Hello Everyone 🙂
I am excited to say;
a) I am a newbie 
&..
b) This is my first post on this.

Depression & myself have gone hand in hand on & off for the past 2 years. Up until 3 months ago anxiety/panic attacks started.
My first attack was 'the' worst experience of my life & lasted for well over 12 hours coming & going. I didnt know how to handle it or what to do.I It only stopped when eventually i fell asleep.
One thing it enabled me to do was take comfort in my family, leaning on them which i normally find difficult.

When it comes to showing my feelings i just cant show it, I am outspoken but just in my head.
Im not even sure if i have a fear of crowds, I can speak to a room with 100 people in it, Put me at a bar with 6 people and you may not even hear a beep?

For the time being my outspoken mind can't even show my real name, So just call me iTHINK and know that i am a 25yo male.

My third attack happened on a Friday night at around 3:30am, Having learnt more about the condition i found myself less confused about what to do. Keep in mind the pain & everything else was still happening. But being able to be decisive in a situation like that allowed me to find the number to BeyondBlue where a lady by the name of Emma helped me. She kept me company for about an hour and suggested i take a look at this forum, another great call Emma!

I may or may not be in the early stages of anxiety, but like alot of people on this forum say, you just have to accept it as a part of you. Im not on any medication & dont intend on it aswell as not seeing any psych atm, but i am thinking about seeing someone.
For the time being i just try smile (sometimes i dont even need to try 🙂 & keep a positive outlook about myself.