FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Metaphorical frying pan

Bella_bee
Community Member

Hi, I’m new.

I graduated last year and I turn 18 in two weeks. I’m not going to uni until next year since I wasn’t up to snuff physically to get into the Air Force. I work everyday at the local grocery store, and I was bullied in high school. I only have one close friend and they are out of town. I’m lonely, I cut off all ties with everybody, and I’m supposed to be somebody by now.

I feel like this is what it’s going to be like forever, and that terrifies me. I tried to date someone and I try to talk to people because I’m very out going, but I’m terrified because my last relationship and close friendships ended up being abusive. I don’t want to go to a dark place again, but I feel like my life is stagnant while everyone leaves me behind. I expected more for myself, not sitting alone every night.

I don’t know where to go from here.. I’m tired of being sad and scared all the time. Is it normal to feel like this? What can I do to fix this and mature?

5 Replies 5

startingnew
Community Member

hi Bella Bee and welcome to the forums

your sounding pretty isolated right now, have you heard of a site called meetup? they have heaps of groups that you could join in you just search your area on the site and see what pops up, they ahve social groups, mh groups, interest groups all sorts really. maybe that could be some help?

hat about trying to find a new job and get out there more, or possibly doing part time study through tafe?

have you got family that you could speak too? or possibly speak to your gp for extra support? they are also able to perform a mental health assessment and refer you to other services.