FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I feel isolated and alone when I'm not

Jackaboy
Community Member

Hi, I'm new to this but figured I'd give talking about it a go because nothing else has helped. Essentially I'm a 17 year old and I've been suffering from depression and anxiety for as long as I can remember it's always been pretty bad but recently I caught covid and it got 10 times worse than I thought it could ever get. I didn't even end up sick but ended up just sleeping all the time and now that I'm not sick anymore I still sleep all the time, and even though I'm no longer isolated due to covid no matter how often I hang out with people and talk about my issues with friends or family I feel worse everyday. I know I'm not even alone in my situation but still I feel so alone and sad all the time and yet even feeling sad feels better than nothing which is how I usually end up feeling. Anyway I appreciate people taking the time to read this even if this doesn't end up helping. Thanks for listening to my issues.

2 Replies 2

Sophie_M
Dear Jackaboy,

Believe it, by just talking about it, you have already started the process of figuring out what you need to start feeling better. We commend you for finding the strength to start the process.

We understand that after being sick from Covid, you have been struggling to find the energy to do anything. You have been talking with your friends, but you haven't been getting anything out of the connection.

Our supportive community is one of the places which might help. As many of us have been through similar struggles with anxiety and depression, we may well have better understanding of what you are experiencing than your friends, and we want you to know that you are supported. So, when you tell us what you are feeling, we really can relate.