FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Feeling overwhelemed, stress and phone addiction

MoodedOut
Community Member

Hi everyone,

Hope we're all well. I've recently been really struggling with university work even though I'm in 3rd year. I have been trying really hard but it seems to be getting nowhere, I feel like I'm wasting time, and to make it worse as a coping mechanism I go on my phone and endlessly scroll through social media which is making me feel even more worse.

I guess there's not much I wanted to do, but just to have an outlet to get it all out. Hopefully, this forum ends up being a better coping mechanism than endless social media and I appreciate you all for hearing me out 🙂

7 Replies 7

quirkywords
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi moodedout and welcome to the forum. Well done for writing your first post.

Many can relate to how distracting social media bneing so addictive and easy to use.

There is a thread that has ideas of how to cope with FB.

Topic: Facebook...The Good or the Bad...Your Say!

tranzcrybe
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hi MoodedOut,

I welcome you to the bb forums and hope you find something helpful in Quirky's reference.
(BTW, just copy the topic Facebook...The Good or the Bad...Your Say! into the Search Box at the top of this page to find links).

Apart from locking your phone in a vault, you could possibly use its allure to help you with your studies...

• Work out what a fair proportion of time you need for Uni Stuff versus Social Media (eg 3 hours on Study = 1 hour of Social time [3:1]) - this ratio might provide an incentive to build your 'social time credits'
  • Set a timer on your phone if you feel undisciplined