FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Need help understanding how to support my partner whom may be going through depression

Ashiraz
Community Member
Hi, I am a newbie here. I joined today cz I really need some help understanding whether my partner has depression and get to know how to help him. Since of late he has been skipping work a lot and says that he feels down. He thinks going to work is just a distraction to get by..He often questions "the point" of it all and I am not sure I know how to help him. We both grew up in cultures where we never discussed mental health, so I am not even sure whether it is the case. I am worried leaving him home for work cz I fear that he might harm himself. He sometimes asks me to stay home with him cz he feels "down" but is the only way he expresses it. He generally is an over-thinker and keeps himself busy. I am starting to believe that he tries to keep himself occupied all the time, (be it household improvement or working out a loan, buying a car etc)cz when he is not he feels "down". Any feedback on how I need to approach? Please help me...
2 Replies 2

Sophie_M
Dear Ashiraz,

It sounds like you are worried about your partner's safety and well-being. If you are finding that you are concerned about him having trouble making the steps in keeping themselves safe, there are some steps that you can take to ensure he gets the right assistance. Educating them about their options of gaining professional help is one way to support them. A person needing mental health support can get a referral to a mental health professional from a GP/doctor and they can put them on what is called a Mental Health Care Plan which will allow people to have subsidised psychological sessions under Medicare.