FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I am new to the Forums

Guest_1206
Community Member

I am new to the, let me say forum scene, which I think is a good place to start from for some people I have red some posts and have ideas to share with people with depression as I live with bipolar disorder with metabolic depression. In other words i have times of manic "highs" , where i feel like I've  got lots of energy and cant sleep, which some people may think that its a good thing, but not for me. After coming out of a "high" I then end up on a manic "low"  where I feel depressed, and cry a lot but not this time so I can relate to a lot of you guys and girls, especially when talking about depression. I want to reach out to you but don't know how to  reply to your posts can anyone help me with this issue please.

2 Replies 2

Croix
Community Champion
Community Champion

Dear Guest_1206~

I'd like to welcome you here to the Forum and have read your other thread you started at bipolar disorder.

It must have been a great shock to you , and your friend  when you had an unexpected episode, whch combined with an enforced trip to hospital would have made anyone feel hopeless -at least for a while.

May I ask if you have good support? I know your husband flew up to you , is he able to assist and cope wiht the highs and lows? It would not be easy for him either and he may require his own support. My partner had her mum and that made a huge difference to her when I was difficult to live with

I found it is not even necessary to understand completely, support can come in many ways, with love and care the most important. My partner never understood what was going on in my head when my PTSD was at its worst, but just being there was a comfort (even if I did not realise it until later)