FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Is Hospitalisation Necessary?

Casualfriday
Community Member

Hi everyone!

This is my first ever post (yay!) so bear with me 🙂

Just for some context: I have been battling with anxiety and depression for several years now. I graduated last year so i'm still living at home and a few months ago, I naively thought it would be a great idea to go off all of my medication cold turkey because I thought I was cured. -_-

I know I need to go back on my meds (my parents found out i stopped taking them) and I've been seeing my wonderful psychologist regularly since then. I've been told by all my doctors that I need to be monitored closely when I start up my meds again, but the thing Is I'm not convinced that my parents can do this. My reasoning is because I have a sibling with severe mental illness that they are already monitoring most of the time and one of my parents has Bi Polar. I know that sometimes people go to hospital while they undergo medication changes and I was thinking maybe I should do this, but nobody thinks this is necessary. I believe this is because I'm quite articulate and that often comes across as if I'm in control of my emotions and actions (which actually couldn't be further from the truth). I'm scared that If I suggest it i'll be accused of "seeking attention" or something like that.

My question for you guys is whether hospitalisation has been an avenue you have ever explored and whether or not I should investigate it further given my circumstances. 

Much love, Casualfriday x

5 Replies 5

DefiantPanda
Community Member

Hey there, congrats on graduating. Sorry to hear your experience going off meds hasn't been very good.