FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Exhausted

Virgo6
Community Member

Hi everyone, I’ve never done this before and I’m not sure if it’s the right place but I just need some space to vent. I live with my best friend who has bipolar disorder. She’s recently some big life stressors, mainly relating to relationship issues. I’ve been trying very hard to support her and be there for her, but I’m starting to feel a bit exhausted because I too have my own mental health issues (depression & anxiety). With all the stuff going on in her life I feel my struggles are very insignificant and I feel as though I need to keep any depressive/anxious thoughts on the inside. Her bipolar disorder also causes her to lack of empathy and she tends to just block other people’s emotions out, which I understand is a protective mechanism. I also live 5 hours away from my parents, siblings and nephews, and recently I’ve been finding myself to be missing a lot which is normal, but not to the extent it is lately. I think the house atm is just filled with depressing vibes, and I miss the hustle and bustle and loving feeling of my house back home and being with family. I guess I just want to know that I’m not crazy and wondering if anyone could give me any advice.

Thank you!!

4 Replies 4

Sophie_M
Hi Virgo6,

Welcome to the forums! You've come to the right place. We understad it must be quite exhausting to always be in a space that is filled with depressing vibes and also to not be receiving empathy and support from a friend to whom you have given so much. We can also empathise with how difficult it is to be so far away from your family, you are not crazy. Please know that we are all in this together, and we will get through this time.