FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Mindfulness

Traveller73
Community Member
A common thread on here is that mindfulness has not worked for them. But am wondering if its because the symptoms persist and the thoughts keep coming back? This will happen. The trick is to notice the thought. "I notice i'm thinking about X', then go back to concentrating on your mindfulness exercise. It might happen several times. It takes practice as you retrain your brain to focus. I hope this post encourages others to try mindfulnrss as it really helped me. The book 'The Happiness Trap' really goes into it more andtotally recommendd. Good luck.
5 Replies 5

Vince_Noir
Community Member
I agree Traveller, I've been using an app, headspace, for the last 6 months or so and have found it very beneficial. I've had a bad 18 months or so with anxiety but have found mindfulness is certainly helping me in the right direction. I wouldn't say its a cure as such, but when practiced regularly (I try to do a 15 minute session each day) it helps you to ease past those difficult, unhealthy thought patterns.

Starwolf
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi Traveller,

Thank you for this helpful observation. I agree...a common mistake is to fight (push forcefully away) intrusive thoughts. Calm acknowledgment before focusing the mind elsewhere is the key. Something like "yes, I am feeling scared, angry, hopeless etc..at the moment" but now I want to be elsewhere, do something else.

Other reasons why people reject mindfulness as "not for them" is because they only give it a go when the going gets tough. As I often point out, a competition, exam, sport match are not the time to practice our moves...Regular training when not under pressure does it.