FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

How do you explain sexual assault in marriage

Shadow25
Community Member

I'm new at this. Hard to find the words to describe what I'm going through at the moment but I'll try.

Life has been tough for the past 7 yrs. I was diagnosed with severe carer burnout/depression when I was not coping with looking after my severely disabled son. Unfortunately he died 6 months later. After looking after him for 25 years I was lost to say the least. With the help of a great GP and a psychologist I managed. Probably wasn't the best Mum to my daughters at that time.

In 2013 I separated from my husband. Just couldn't cope and wanted somone to look after me. Finally divorced in dec 2016.

All through this I had a habit of scratching myself especially when stressed. Calmed down for awhile then got worse last year with stress of selling family home, divorce etc

My GP wanted to know why I was still doing this. Was it something that happened in my childhood?

It led me to lookback at aspects of my marriage and what I discovered wasn't pretty. Things I knew were there but didn't acknowledge because I had my son and 2 daughters to look after are now making their prescence felt.

I have told my GP and psychologist and a close friend but can't bring myself to tell my family. Is this normal? My brother and sister know I've had a rough time but keep telling me to look forward not backward. Just so hard at the moment. Tempting to lock it all away, try and forget it happened. I need to work this out so if I start another relationship I can trust again.

I know talking will help just feel so scared at the moment.

Shadow25

7 Replies 7

TBella
Community Member

Welcome Shadow 25

this is my first day on here to & so I know how much courage it took you to share!