FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Overwhelmed with grief and pressure

Ellmo
Community Member

Hi, I'm a newbie.

In a nutshell, I work full-time, study part-time at uni (on campus 1 day + online) and a bit over 2 weeks ago my mother-in-law died suddenly at 52.

She had been battling cancer for just over 18 months and was recently told to stop treatment. She was given 6 months to live, 6 weeks ago. She went on the holiday she'd been planning for ages, had emergency surgery whilst away and was finally 'well' enough to travel home. We thought she was recovering and back with us until Christmastime. A dislodged blood clot suddenly took her life whilst in hospital. She never made it home. We buried her a week ago.

Prior to this I was already 'down';trapped and overwhelmed with the pressures of juggling work and school, as well as on-going family issues.

I went to the Drs today to get more time off work and she suggested putting me on a Mental Health Plan. This has helped somewhat in the past (I intermittently suffer from anxiety and they were at an all-time high around my wedding 2 years ago), but I just feel like it'll be the same thing: relaxation, breathing techniques, medication discussion (which I am resistant of).

I was reminded of this site when I googled 'I can't stop crying', as that is the kind of day I've had. I have assignments due tomorrow (which I've already had an extension for), but I simply cannot organise my thoughts right now. I feel numb outside, but my heart is physically hurting inside and I feel alone. I feel guilty, weak, stupid and confused at the intensity of my emotions.