FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Hey I’m a newbie

Snowy1310
Community Member
Hey all , I’m new here , finally realising that my depression is really affecting those around me so it’s time I got some help and support , I’m a mum of 5 and I feel like I’m the worst parent in the world , my moods are horrendous and my 4 year old is always asking me why I’m so sad and why I’m crying , I want to be a great role model not this person I am now ....anyway I look forward to chatting with some of you and sharing my healing journey along the way xx
2 Replies 2

Soberlicious96
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi Snowy,

Welcome to Beyond Blue and well done for reaching out.

I would like to suggest that if you are not already getting some face-to-face help for your depression - such as from your doctor or a counselor, then perhaps you could look at doing that, yeah? Also, please don't listen to your head when it is telling you that you are the "worst parent in the world", as I'm sure that is completely unfounded ........ after all, the 'worst parent in the world' would be highly unlikely to admit that there was even an issue with themselves to begin with! And you have been brave enough to not only admit to a personal struggle, but you've reached out to an audience of potentially thousands ........ which also means that there is LOTS of potential help and support available that you have just now tapped into, yeah?

Parenting, I can only imagine, is a tough job at the best of times. I say 'imagine' because I am not a parent, by choice, so I can only really guess at how hard and exhausting it can be sometimes. And the more kids, the more work there is.