FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Very conflicted

sparrowhawk
Community Member

I have been doing support work for a couple of months and really love it. I’ve got three clients at the moment, which is great as it balances well with my part-time job.

I came into this work after living in a very structured religious community for almost ten years. Like everything being accounted for, often being supervised and criticised on performance, having very little independence. I left that life very unwell with anorexia and now live with that (I’m recovering) and PTSD, which has been dealt with on-and-off by professionals.

One client is seriously unwell and has support workers round the clock. They live with family and they have set up a really clear system and routine for support workers. Support workers sign in, there’s a handbook for them, they need to record all the tasks they do, etc.

My client is so lovely, but they’re also very assertive and direct. They are great qualities, and this might sound weird - I find myself a bit scared of them at times. Dealing with very direct people reminds me of my past, because directness has often turned into personal attacks, and because I was always expected to be perfect, all the time. I also find the routine and environment gives me a lot of flashbacks - being supervised as I do housework, being directed on chores to do, etc. Sometimes I actually dread going there. And it’s nothing they are doing wrong, these are all my issues, and that’s what makes me feel bad.